Kale, Bell Pepper and Bacon Stuffed Sweet Potatoes

Earlier in our relationship, Kevin and I read the book, The 5 Love Languages. If you haven’t read it and are in a relationship, I highly recommend it. Actually, you should read it even if you aren’t in a relationship, because it teaches you that everyone has different ways of feeling and showing love. I bet you didn’t think that this post titled, “Kale, Bell Pepper and Bacon Stuffed Sweet Potatoes”, would get so deep so fast huh?

I learned that “acts of service” is my main love language. I show people love by doing acts of service for them and I feel most loved when I receive acts of service. Basically, Kevin now knows that vacuuming the house is the way to my heart. God I love those clean carpet lines. I also learned that you are supposed to tell people thank you and show appreciation when they do acts of service for you. Since acts of service are so innate to me, I never thought much about recognizing the acts themselves.

Clearly, recognizing feelings and emotions isn’t my strongest trait. Instead of outwardly showing my emotions for you, I’d rather do something for you. Usually the way I do that is by cooking. I love to cook for people. Are you celebrating something? Let me cook for you. Are you going through a rough time? Let me cook for you. My friends think I am crazy for this, but I’ve very willing volunteered to cook for large bachelorette parties for my closest friends. This is my way of showing my appreciation for them and you could say letting them know I love them, but let’s not get too mushy gushy here.

I made these breakfast sweet potatoes during the most recent bachelorette trip. I wanted to do something simple that would keep us full for hours, but not make us feel bloated. These breakfast stuffed sweet potatoes are loaded with vitamins, minerals, protein and complex carbohydrates…and bacon, cause, well, I’m still human. You can easily swap out ingredients and change the flavors completely based on what you have on hand. These also reheat really well, so they would be great to have on hand during the week! This recipe is more like a guide and the measurements are very approximate. I was cooking for 12 girls and winged it based on what sounded good in my head. If you want more cheese and less veggies, make your own adjustments. You do you.

IMG_1627

Kale, Bell Pepper and Bacon Stuffed Sweet Potatoes

Ingredients

  • 1 small sweet potato per person (adjust based on the size of your sweet potatoes)
  • 5 eggs per person, whisked
  • 1 slice of bacon per person, chopped
  • ¼ cup kale per person (ribs removed, thinly sliced)
  • ¼ cup bell pepper per person, chopped
  • ¼ cup onion per person, chopped
  • 1/8 cup cheese per person, shredded
  • Salt, pepper and garlic powder, to taste
  • Oil, whatever you have on hand
  • Optional
    • Chopped cilantro
    • Chopped green onions
    • Avocado

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Stab sweet potatoes with a fork a few times and lightly rub with oil, salt and pepper then place on a foil-lined baking sheet. Bake until you can easily pierce them with a fork, about 35-40 minutes. Flip halfway through baking.
  2. While sweet potatoes are cooking, heat a large pan to medium heat and cook the chopped bacon. Spoon the cooked bacon out of the pan and set aside. Leave 1-2 Tbsp. bacon fat in the pan.
  3. Add onion and bell pepper to pan and cook until soft but not mushy, about 3-4 minutes. Add the onions and peppers to the reserved bacon.
  4. Add kale to pan and cover pan to wilt kale. Once kale is softened, add the bacon, onions and peppers back to the pan. Dump in the whisked eggs and season with salt, pepper and garlic powder. Cook until eggs are just about done, but not all the way there (they will continue to cook in the oven)
  5. Cut cooked sweet potatoes in half. Use a spoon to scoop out some of the inside so each potato half becomes a boat for the egg mixture.
    1. Tip: Save the cooked sweet potato you scoop out to mix into oatmeal or smoothies, make brownies with, freeze for a future use…basically just don’t throw it away!
  6. Place sweet potato boats on a baking sheet, skin side down. Evenly distribute the egg mixture into the sweet potato boats. I like to pile my eggs pretty high, but it’s up to you. Sprinkle with shredded cheese. Place back in the oven until the cheese is oozy and melted.
  7. Sprinkle with optional cilantro, green onions and avocado. Devour!
3 thoughts on “Kale, Bell Pepper and Bacon Stuffed Sweet Potatoes

  1. Shantille, you are a talented writer! Your writing is natural and yet you blend totally different topics seamlessly. Keep it up.

    I agree, that book is excellent for couples and singles. Funny how the way we express love is often the way we prefer to receive it. Who knew?

    Like you, my fiancé shows love through acts of service (bless him!) He never thanked me for my acts of service for him until one day I pointed it out. The idea of thanking someone was very strange to him when we met, because doing tasks for others was so second nature to him — it’s just what he did!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words Coral! It’s truly amazing how we can have different ways to receive and express love. It was such a simple and easy to read book, yet brings up incredibly powerful conversations. I’m interested in reading some of his other books, especially the 5 Languages of Forgiveness. I hope you are having a great week!

      Like

  2. I can personally attest to the deliciousness of that loaded sweet potato creation and feeling loved through eating all the magic Shantille conjures up.

    For me, I am also an acts of service person (hrmm, maybe that is why we were roommates in college??). I get satisfaction in doing the “little things” for others to show I care and notice things about their lives. In my current relationship, I have found we both express love through touch . I never considered myself to be a “touchy” person but as I am more cognizant of it, I do realize putting a hand on someone’s shoulder when having a conversation is something I do often. My boyfriend and I also will often pass by each other and just kind of reach out to let the other know we are there . Interesting how your love languages can kind to adapt to your partner’s needs also!

    Like

Leave a Reply

