Weekly Grub + Protein-Packed Any Day Pancakes

Happy Monday! How was your weekend? We had a lovely weekend that included a lot of activities and some much needed relaxation. At one point on Sunday afternoon, I was lying in bed with coffee and a homemade mini pop tart, the sun was coming through our window and I was doing some work on the computer. It was absolutely wonderful.

I didn’t do much meal prepping last week and I definitely noticed the difference. I enjoy looking in the fridge on Monday and seeing stacks of Tupperware filled with prepped food ready to be cooked or eaten. I don’t enjoy looking in the fridge on Monday and thinking, “Crap I still need to get that ready for dinner.” Yesterday I spent some extra time prepping the following recipes, so we can have quick and nutritious meals all week long:

  • Breakfast for the Week: Salmon and Asparagus Frittata + Sautéed Kale + Avocado
    • Mix 1 can of salmon, 8 eggs and 1 bunch of asparagus (chopped) in a bowl. Sprinkle in salt, pepper and garlic powder. Pour in a greased 8×8 dish and bake at 350 degrees. I can’t tell you how long to bake it, because I forgot to set a timer and also completely forgot I put it in the oven. Luckily, I smelled it before it overcooked. Cut into 4 squares for a quick, ready to eat breakfast!
    • Remove kale leaves from stems and chop. I like sautéing these fresh each morning.
  • Sunday Dinner + Weekday Lunches: Lasagna with Eggplant and Zucchini Noodles
    • Prep: I cooked the sauce in the slow cooker all day, so I could just assemble the lasagna on Sunday night.
  • Monday: Fish Tacos + Sautéed Bell Peppers
    • Prep: Make coleslaw and slice bell peppers on Sunday.
  • Tuesday: Jalapeno Steak Salad
    • Prep: Make dressing, marinade and defrost steak on Sunday.
  • Wednesday: Leftover night! I’ll defrost something from the freezer.
    • Prep: Defrost on Monday.
  • Thursday: Cracklin’ Chicken + Twice Baked Cauliflower Casserole
    • Prep: Defrost chicken on Monday and chop cauliflower on Sunday.
  • Friday: Pizza Night out!
    • Prep: Agonize over where we want to get pizza from 😉
  • Snacks
    • Cashew butter (make on Sunday) + fruit
    • Beef jerky + pumpkin seeds

Protein Packed Any Day Pancakes

img_0307.jpg

Typically, I only consider making pancakes on the weekend. It involves taking out many different ingredients, some of which are in the powder form. This means that there will inevitably be a dusting of flour on my countertops when I’m done preparing them. I don’t need that on a weekday. However, these one-bowl, relatively mess free pancakes come together quickly and only make enough for 1 serving. Therefore, you don’t have to stand over the stove flippin’ cakes all morning. Also, as much as I love real pancakes, they don’t have the amount of protein I’m hoping for after a strenuous morning workout. I have no idea what the exact amount of protein these pancakes have, nor do I care enough to figure it out. However, I do know that these pancakes keep me full for hours and make me very happy. That’s all that matters to me.

I just throw these ingredients together and hope for the best. Last time I did measure some of the more important ingredients, like baking powder, but please be flexible and add whatever you like! There are tons of variations of this recipe and the general concept has been flooding Pinterest for a while. After many trials and errors, this is what I’ve learned:

  • Use a ripe banana, like you would use for banana bread. If you don’t have a ripe banana, don’t fret! Simply slice up the banana and microwave it for a minute. It will caramelize and become much softer.
  • The 2-ingredient egg and banana pancakes don’t do it for me. I think adding baking powder and protein powder makes them more pancake like.
  • Cook them low and slow and use oil on your pan! Coconut oil gives them a lovely flavor.

Serves: 1 (4 small pancakes)

Ingredients

  • 1 ripe banana, mashed
  • 2 eggs
  • ½ scoop of protein powder (I use vanilla protein powder. You can add more if you want, but I think the protein powder flavor takes over the pancakes.)
  • ½ tsp. almond or vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 Tbsp. flaxseed meal
  • Sprinkle of cinnamon

Instructions

  1. Mash banana and add in egg. Whisk until well combined.
  2. Add in remaining ingredients and whisk until well combined.
  3. Heat a skillet on medium-low and coat skillet with oil.
  4. Drop ¼ cup of batter at a time onto the skillet. I can usually get 4 pancakes, but it will depend on the size of your banana and eggs.
Leave a Reply

