The Weekly Grub

 

This is going to be a relatively short post, because I’m pooped. I had all these intentions to write this post on Saturday and even plan out a blog content calendar. How official does that sound?! Well, it didn’t happen. We decided to grill fish tacos with some friends and watch the March Madness games instead. I think we made the right decision. Kevin convinced me to join the bracket this year by using $10 from his Venmo account for my registration. Little did I know that my technique of choosing schools in places I would like to go and those that I have affiliations with would actually lead to me possibly winning some money. Games are a lot more fun when money is on the line. Go Tarheels! 

IMG_6184.JPG
Relaxing Sunday evening= Backyard fires + s’mores

We stayed out late last night (aka past 10pm), so I woke up exhausted this morning. For some reason though, I thought I had plenty of energy, enough to take white lightening (my new bike) on an adventure to Winters to meet my mom and some of her friends for brunch. I went from lying on the couch in PJ’s to biking down a country road. About 20 minutes into the ride, I was questioning my spur of the moment, probably not smart decision. Once I got over that hurdle, I had a lovely ride with beautiful spring scenery. You want to know what’s not fun though? Eating fruit and toast while everyone else enjoys eggs Benedict, breakfast tacos and other delicious plates, because you are worried you might puke while biking home. Let’s just say the hour long ride back was a little slower, which gave me plenty of time to enjoy the wildflowers 🙂

IMG_6176
Luckily I remembered to take my allergy pill before the bike ride.

When I first started meal planning and prepping, every Sunday I would make a separate dish for lunch the following week. Eventually I got sick of spending 2-3 hours prepping in the kitchen on Sunday, especially when the beach was right down the road. Now I make about enough food for 8 people for Sunday dinner and use the leftovers in various ways for lunch or even dinner all week long. This saves way more time and usually money as well, because I can buy the meat and veggies in bulk. Now that grilling season is back, this method has gotten even easier. Tonight I grilled an assortment of vegetables that we can use in salads, bowls or pasta this week. I enjoy meal prepping this way, because it allows you to be more versatile with leftovers. I personally can eat the same thing day in and day out, but I understand that other people might think it’s very boring. Some of my favorite meals to make tons of on Sunday are: stuffed sweet potatoes, casserole like dishes (spaghetti squash lasagna), slow cooker meats for bowls, zucchini stuffed enchiladas, kale salads (the kale holds the dressing really well) and fajitas.

This week’s grub:

  • Sunday: Grilled veggie and feta salad + burgundy pepper pork
  • Monday: A’s Opening Day game! We are grilling burgers at the park. 
  • Tuesday: Crab cakes + salad
  • Wednesday: Garlic parmesan chicken wings + roasted broccoli & carrots
  • Thursday: Cauliflower alfredo fettuccine with kale (I’ve wanted to try this for a while, so I will let you know how the sauce turns out!)
  • Friday: Leftovers creation

Questions for you:

  1. What did you do over the weekend?
  2. Do you have a method that makes packing lunch easier for you?

 

Leave a Reply

