Musings from the Grocery Store

I did not post a weekly grub recipe this week, because, to be honest, our meal plan was pretty lame. Sometimes that happens and it’s totally OK. Last week I realized our freezer was overflowing with all the food I have been saving and we were sent home with a ton of delicious leftovers from family shindigs. Instead of buying a bunch of new food and likely freezing some of it, I challenged myself to cook mainly from our freezer and leftovers this week. This meant that we didn’t really have a plan and I was going to just cook our meals on a whim.

So are you interested to hear how it’s going? Well, last night I found a container of chicken pot pie filling hiding in the black hole freezer and got excited to make a chicken a semi-fresh chicken pot pie. I took it out and placed it on the counter to kick start the thawing process. I went on a walk and got rained on with pollen (hello lovely springtime allergies), which meant I passed out on the couch around 9 pm. I had so many intentions to write this post, read a chapter in my book, stretch, brush my teeth and wash my face. Instead, the pollen gods took over and I did not accomplish any of those things (Kevin thought my breath smelled really fresh this morning). Needless to say, that also meant the chicken pot pie filling sat out on the counter all night. Epic fail. I put in the fridge then questioned my judgement about an hour later and threw it out. As easy as going to the Farmer’s Market and grabbing a quick bite sounded tonight, I am not giving up and will be eating a delicious bacon, onion and spinach omelet soon.

I have a story for you. So the other day I was in the grocery store perusing the cracker options, and had the following conversation with another shopper:

Woman whose personal space I was probably invading as I reached for a box of crackers- “You look really fit. How do you do it?”

Me- “Thanks! I move.”

Woman, with an unsatisfied look on her face- “Don’t tell me you are one of those moms that say they have great arms from lifting their babies.”

Me- “No, I am not a mom, thank you. I just move a lot. I walked here, for example. I bike and swim. I lift weights frequently. I just like exercising.”

Now bored with me woman- “Well I just don’t like exercising at all.

And she walked away as I thought to myself, “Crap! I should have told her about my blog!”

I’m not going to lie, I knew my reply would irk her which is partially why I said it. I’ve been in this industry long enough to know that people don’t want you to tell them something simple. They want the latest secret or some complicated story. What people don’t realize is that everyone is different. Something that works for me, may not work for you. We are completely unique people with individual needs. However, I love talking about tips and strategies to live a healthier and more balanced life. I also realize that people enjoy learning about how other people try to maintain their health and wellness, so let me indulge you in a few strategies that work well for me. Something might spark your interest or maybe you’ll think I’m nuts. Either way, just remember we all have our own personalities and needs, so do what works and feels good for you.

  • Resist the urge to plop on the couch after work. I know, I know…it’s the best feeling in the world. There are so many days that I come home wiped out from a crazy ass day and the couch looks so inviting. I’ve learned though (through lots of trial and error) that it just makes it worst. Once I’m there, it takes a lot of convincing to get me up and active again. However, if I move right after work, then I get a new found sense of energy (unless there’s a boatload of pollen in the air). Sometimes I may only walk for 10 minutes, but it’s exactly what I need to rejuvenate myself.
  • Make ½ your plate fruits and veggies. I plan on writing a post about this little tidbit at some point, so consider this a sneak preview. I try to put fruits and veggies on my plate before anything else, so there is plenty of space to fill up. More often than not, I also eat my veggies first. Kevin usually stares at me in disbelief as I munch on something green while he devours everything but the veggies first. I like to do this, because it means that I won’t be too full for veggies after the other food.

  • Shift your mindset. It can be really easy to go along with the negative thoughts that go through our head through the day, be it work-rage, a traffic filled commute, or you just feel blah. You might think, “I feel so tired and crappy, I can’t work out.” Instead, try thinking “I feel so tired a crappy, but I bet exercising would help me feel better.” Our mindset has a ton of power to influence our behaviors, but we also have the power to change it.

 

3 thoughts on “Musings from the Grocery Store

  1. You must be in my head!! “Resist the urge to plop on the couch after work” and eat a bowl of ice cream!!! I enjoy reading your blog- and am trying to find my motivation again!

    Like

    1. Oh I’ve been there! I try to tell myself, “Think of how much better you will feel after you do it” and it usually helps. I also started listening to audio books, but only listen to them if I’m exercising. Considering I easily get addicted to books, this motivates me to get moving after work! Thanks for the comment 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

