The Weekly Grub

When I first started this project, I had all these hopes and aspirations for posting at least three times a week, being a boss on social media and having posts planned out weeks in advance. Let’s just say, I was not being real with myself. I have no doubt that I will eventually get there, but having this blog has been a great reminder that sometimes life doesn’t go as planned and you have to do what’s best for yourself. You see, I don’t particularly enjoy being on a computer. I’d rather be outside, in the kitchen or reading a book. However, I realize that a computer is a pretty critical component to writing a blog.

Our weather was beautiful last week and the time change meant it was light for hours after work. It’s quite amazing how the time change made me feel so much more energized post work. There was no way that I was going to spend those critical hours sitting on the couch with a computer on my lap. Instead, I went swimming, walked to and from work, ran errands, etc. Eventually, I plopped on the couch around 8:30 or 9, but my body was physically exhausted at that point. While I did feel guilty about not posting last week, I knew that spending time outside was much better for my body and mind. I am going to need to develop a system to figure out how to consistently write posts as lake weather approaches, because it’s safe to say that water-skiing on the lake will take precedence pretty much every time.

We embraced the spring weather and had a lovely weekend outside. After lots of research and ad checking, we finally purchased a grill and are so excited for lots of backyard barbecues. We celebrated on Friday night with some grilled sausages, asparagus and fingerling garlic potato kebabs. Family visited on Saturday and we spent the majority of the day outside walking, playing catch, going to the batting cages and drinking our way around downtown. The rain graced us with it’s presence today, so it inevitably forced me to relax. I am quite enjoying our rainy day though and love having nothing to do (shocking, I know!). We made homemade donuts using refrigerated biscuit dough and they were heavenly. I was pretty skeptical going into it, but the results were amazing and it was so easy. We stuffed some with jelly, nutella or peanut butter and had so much fun creating our own flavor combinations. I highly recommend giving it a shot!

Alright, now on to meal planning. I find that the hardest parts about cooking for two people is that I always make too much or never use all the ingredients required for the recipe. I hardly ever need a whole can of beans, unless I am making a big slow cooker dish. So, what do you do with the leftover ingredients? I’ve found that it helps to keep this in mind when I am meal planning. For example, our Tuesday and Wednesday meals are quite different this week, but use the same ingredients. I hate buying a bunch of herbs and seeing them go to waste, because the recipe only calls for a small amount so i’ll use cilantro and limes for the chicken marinade and for the Chinese chicken salad. Try finding recipes that use the same ingredients in different or similar ways to save money and reduce food waste.

I also plan the meals that I know will make more, like a whole pizza, on Sunday or Monday. That way we can use the leftovers for lunch or in other dinners throughout  the week. I don’t like making larger meals on Thursdays, because our weekend plans vary and sometimes that food will get thrown out. Making larger meals on Sunday or Monday also makes our lunch prep so much easier. I love not having to make lunch everyday and just having Tupperware packed and ready to go for the week. This week Kevin will eat the pizza for lunch pretty much all week. We have a ton of greens to use up, so I will make random salads and just throw leftovers from dinners on top. I’ve embraced the “just throw some stuff in a bowl” mentality and it definitely keeps my meals interesting and easy.

We will be grubbing on the following meals this week:

  • Sunday: Zoodle shrimp scampi
  • Monday: Pancetta, crispy brussell sprouts and mushroom grilled pizza + salad
  • Tuesday: Honey jalapeno grilled chicken + asparagus
  • Wednesday: Chinese chicken salad
  • Thursday: Out (I’m meeting a friend for dinner and Kev leaves for a spring training bachelor party)
  • Friday: Leftovers

PS- The corned beef tacos from last week were a hit! I ended up serving them twice in one week.

Questions for you:

  1. What’s on your meal plan this week?
  2. Are you enjoying the time change? Did it change your routine as well?

 

Leave a Reply

