Veggie Egg Dump Skillet

For the majority of my life, I despised eggs in all shapes and forms. Deviled eggs were the bane of my existence; I hated being anywhere near them. I thought scrambled eggs resembled vomit and egg yolks creeped me out (are those little baby chickens or what?). The only way I consumed eggs was in raw cookie dough or brownie batter and man I did have my fair share of that. My grandma was the breakfast sandwich queen and always made them for everyone before we went out for a day of water skiing out on the boat. Since she is an amazing grandma, she always made me a special one with a big S on the foil so no one else would eat it. Guess what my sandwich consisted of? Loads of bacon smashed between a buttery english muffin. I’m not gonna lie, it was extremely delicious and I would probably devour one right now. (I found out later that Kevin also made this meal for himself in college.)

My taste buds did eventually evolve though…mainly because the omelette bar really expanded your options at the Dining Commons freshman year. If you didn’t get the omelette bar, your other options were the cereal bar or some really gross oatmeal. This was also during my health nut phase though, so I was all about the egg whites. Egg yolks and fat? Gross. I hadn’t expanded my knowledge and learned that the dietary recommendations shouldn’t always be trusted. I also hadn’t experienced the deliciousness of a fresh, buttery egg yolk.

During college I was lucky enough to live in Italy for a semester. You would think my most memorable food experience there was pasta, pizza or anything full of delicious carbs. Nope. It was the eggs. I remember going to the grocery store to buy eggs and being extremely confused as to why they weren’t refrigerated and why you could only buy ½ dozen containers. Despite the fact I am part Irish, I decided to trust the Italians and tried their odd room temperature brown eggs. I distinctly remember cracking the shell and revealing a deep orange, huge egg yolk. At this point, I was only consuming scrambled eggs (the runny yolk still freaked me out) and these scrambled eggs were the most amazing eggs I ever tasted in my life. The fact that I enjoyed these eggs (with delicious, sizzling pancetta) more than chocolate filled croissants from the cafe down the street, must help you understand how amazing these eggs were. I still dream about them.

After years of subsisting on massive bowls of oatmeal with all the toppins’ for breakfast, I am now an egg girl. Shockingly, I even like fried eggs with runny yolks (this is a recent development). This change was motivated by my desire to start my day with veggies at breakfast. Yes, I could blend them up into a smoothie but the last time I checked, blending cauliflower, mushrooms and broccoli together is gross and Kevin would n’t love it ff blender got up when I did on the weekend. Also, an egg and veggie loaded breakfast keeps me nice and full until lunch. Therefore, eggs in all forms piled high with veggies is now my new favorite breakfast food. I enjoy frittatas, egg bakes, hard boiled eggs, scrambles, and my most recent favorite- fried eggs cooked into sauteed veggies.

FullSizeRender_1
Veggie egg dump skillet with leftover potatoes and cauliflower. It doesn’t look pretty, but your taste buds will think otherwise.

This dish is so incredibly easy that I’m shocked it took me this long to discover it. These days I usually make a big veggie and egg dish on Sunday to enjoy all week long. However, meal prep didn’t happen a few weeks ago, so Monday morning included me actually having to make breakfast instead of just reheating something. I had a bunch of kale that I needed to use, so I chopped it up thin and threw it in a skillet. I figured it would be a great nest for some fried eggs and of course Parmesan cheese and avocado made it complete. The kale gets nice and crispy while the eggs cook into it, making it so delicious. I’m happy to report that I now love the runny, buttery yolk and pretty much lick it off the plate. I’ve made it just about every morning for the last couple weeks. It’s so versatile, so I usually add some leftovers from dinner. This dish doesn’t require much work, so I can usually do my make-up while it cooks. I’ll take that as a win.

FullSizeRender (2).jpg
Veggie egg dump skillet with leftover pork and mushrooms

Veggie Dump Egg Skillet

You’ll notice that this recipe is very general and doesn’t really have precise measurements. That’s on purpose. Just play with it and make it your own! Do what looks, tastes and feels good to you.

Ingredients

  • A couple handfuls of kale or spinach
  • ½ cup mushrooms, asparagus or any vegetable that sounds delicious
  • 1 teaspoon oil
  • 2 eggs
  • Grated Parmesan cheese (to taste)
  • Salt and pepper (to taste)

Instructions

  1. Heat a small skillet over medium heat and add ½ of the oil.
  2. Add veggies and saute until nearly cooked to your liking. I find that it helps to cover the pan to expedite the process (do not add the salt and pepper at this point or you will get watery eggs)
  3. Spread the veggies evenly in the skillet and add the other half of the oil.
  4. Crack the eggs over the veggies, cover the pan and cook until the eggs are cooked the way you like them.
  5. Sprinkle on the Parmesan cheese, salt and pepper. Enjoy a nutritious and delicious breakfast to start your day strong!

Questions for you:

  1. How is your week going?
  2. Do you have any intense feelings or memories related to eggs? (or maybe I’m the only crazy one…)
2 thoughts on “Veggie Egg Dump Skillet

  1. Shantille, You are wise beyond your years…and I love that you love to create in the kitchen. Veggie egg dump sounds delicious and I’ll be making that for breakfast (or dinner!) in the very near future!! Carry on, my dear blogger!

    Like

Leave a Reply

