Quick & Easy Workout Template

How is your week going? Everything is running pretty smoothly over here. In fact, most of our days have been really smooth lately. I realized last Friday that I am feeling very content with life and it was kind of a weird feeling. It’s not that I am always miserable, but I often look into the future or think about our next big move. However, I can honestly say that I am really happy where I am at. I enjoy my job a lot and see myself in the position for the at least a few years, I love where we live, and I am so glad we get to be surrounded by family and friends. I gotta say, after years of being unsure and always contemplating where I’d end up, this is a wonderful feeling.

One of my favorite parts about going to group exercise classes is that I don’t have to create the workout or think about it before. I just show up and sweat. Since the gym I go to mainly focuses on the college age population, there aren’t very many early morning classes. Therefore, I’ve gotten really good at working out on my own, but that also means I am constantly creating new workouts. Sometimes I enjoy it, sometimes it makes me want to stay in bed.

I want to share a circuit training template that I continue to fall back on again and again. I’m warning you, it’s super simple. It’s so simple, in fact, that you might wonder why I am even sharing it with you. Sometimes simple is best though and you just need someone else to show you the light.

Basically, you perform 10 exercises for 1 minute each. Your rest between exercises can range from 10-60 seconds based on how intense you want the workout to be. Once you complete all 10 exercises you can move onto another round, hold a plank or wall sit for a given amount of time, jump rope, rest, whatever you want!  If you’re short on time, you can just perform 1 round then fit in another later in the day. In fact, did you know that performing 3- 10 minute blocks of exercise is just as effective as 1- 30 minute block of exercise? Research says so, I promise.

Sometimes I do cardio based exercises, sometimes I do only muscle strengthening exercises and other times I mix it up. It really just depends on how my body is feeling and what I want from the workout. That’s the best part about making your own workout- you can mix it up and do whatever you feel like! Here are a couple of my favorite workouts using this template:

Body Weight Cardio

1 minute each exercise/rest 15 seconds between exercises/rest 1 minute between rounds Repeat 3X

  1. Jumping Jacks
  2. High Knees
    1. Modification: go slower and don’t jump
  3. Plank Jacks
    1. Modification: step your feet out instead of jumping
  4. Bicycle
  5. Burpies
    1. Modification: Don’t include a push-up
  6. Swimming Supermans
  7. Jump Squats
    1. Modification: Instead of jumping, rise to your toes for a calf raise at the top of the squat
  8. Mountain Climbers
  9. Skaters
    1. Modification: Let your back foot touch the ground and step instead of hop
  10. Suicide Pushups
    1. Modification: Do on your knees (make sure to keep your hips low and core engaged)

Total Body Strength Training

You will need dumbbells or DB as I refer to them below. Since you are performing this exercise for a full minute, it shouldn’t be the heaviest weight you can lift. It should be challenging, but don’t compromise your form. If you feel like you aren’t engaging your core, it feels painful or you are jerking your arms around, stop and take a break.

1 minute each exercise/rest 30-45 seconds between exercises/rest 1-2 minutes between rounds. Repeat 3X

  1. DB Thrusters
  2. DB Renegade rows
  3. DB Goblet squat
  4. DB Chest press with glute bridge
  5. DB Single arm row (switch arms halfway through)
  6. DB Overhead tricep extension
  7. DB Russian twists
  8. DB Curl to press
  9. DB Upright row with sumo squat
  10. DB Single leg deadlift (switch legs halfway through)

Not sure what some exercises are? YouTube to the rescue!

I’d love to know what you think if you try it!

 

Leave a Reply

