Just Move

I hope those that had Monday off had a smoother transition back to the work week than I did. There is something about beginning the week on Tuesday that totally throws me off. Don’t get me wrong, I am in no way complaining about having Monday off. It was a glorious day- mostly spent outside with friends and family with a little cleaning, meal prepping and exercising here and there.

Speaking of exercising, how are YOU moving this week? I’ve recently experienced a mind shift in which the term exercise somewhat irritates me. “Healthy” hits a nerve too. I’ve actually gotten irritated with a lot of these words that are so commonly thrown around these days. What does “healthy” really even mean? It probably means something totally different to both of us. Let’s save that rant for another post though and get back to “exercise.”

Since physical activity seems too CDC-ish to me, I started using “move” as a replacement. Considering we are literally moving our bodies, it just makes so much more sense to me. It also removes the chance that anyone can judge you for your choice of movement. “Exercise” just seems a bit uppity and exclusive. Moving, on the other hand, includes it all. Gardening is moving. Playing with your kids is moving. If you ask yourself how am I moving today and dancing in your living room is the first thing that comes to mind, great! Do it! Dance your booty off.

mind-2-body-pilates-gym-inspiring-fitness-quotes-sayings-take-care-of-your-body-exercise-motivational-statements-famous-quotes

I also like the concept of moving throughout the day. Rather than devoting 30-60 minutes of our day to exercise and remaining sedentary the rest of the day, let’s try to move all day long. Take a longer route to the restroom, walk to our coworker’s office instead of emailing them, play catch, or re-energize after dinner with some stretching. Basically, just sit less.  

This whole “move” concept has helped me get in tune with my body. I plan my workouts at the beginning of the week, but it’s very rare that I follow the plan to a T. Not because I don’t want to do the given workout, but because my body feels like moving in a different way than I had planned. The other day I planned to do a heavy leg workout, but my hips were not feeling up to it when I woke up. Instead, I asked myself how I could still move that day in a way that honored my body. I decided to go on a lovely coffee walk with Kevin and it was a great way to start my day with movement.

This week I am hoping to move in many ways. Here is my plan, but it’ll likely change:

  • Monday: Total body living room workout while watching Parenthood (my current obsession)
  • Tuesday: Weights (heavy chest & triceps) + bike to work & lunch walk
  • Wednesday: Spin + lunch walk
  • Thursday: Lower body & back barbell workout + lunch walk
  • Friday: Upper body and cardio circuit living room workout + bike to work
  • Saturday: Yoga
  • Sunday: Walking, cleaning & Kevin will probably convince me to do some sports activity

My questions for you:

  1. What’s your favorite way to move?
  2. Do you have any tips that help keep you moving throughout the day?
Leave a Reply

