Grub

Happy Friday! How everyone’s week going so far? I’m happy to report that we are having a very smooth and relaxing week. I also still have all of my limbs, despite starting our project in the woodworking class I’m taking. Honestly, my “just go for it attitude” probably shouldn’t be allowed around dangerously sharp power tools. My instructor looks at me like I’m a bomb that’s about to explode every time I fire up the table saw. There’s a good chance he will revoke my studio pass before the quarter is over…

Today I am here to talk about meal planning, because who doesn’t love meal planning? (If you actually don’t, I’m sorry but we can’t be friends). I started meal planning in college and my method has evolved throughout the years. One thing that hasn’t changed is how convenient and easy it makes eating home cooked, balanced meals throughout the week. There is, by no means, one right way to go about this. Just like everything else in life, do what works for you. My plan is to give you tidbits into my meal planning mentality, week by week. I can’t give you all juicy info at once, because you will become a meal planning master and stop reading my blog.

The first step is to shop your kitchen. This serves two purposes: 1) You don’t buy something you already have (that money could have gone towards chocolate) and 2) It reduces food waste. I don’t know where my hatred for food waste comes from, but it literally kills me to throw food away. I just feel like a jerk when I throw away food that could have been used for something or someone. I find that shopping my kitchen first also forces me to get more creative with my menu. Once I’ve taken inventory, I make a list of foods I have on hand. I included our meal plan for next week below and indicated what foods are items from the pantry, freezer or fridge.

Meals: February 14-20

  • Sunday: Seafood risotto (have seafood mix -freezer and arborio rice – pantry) + asparagus
  • Monday: Sesame crusted ahi tuna + avocado (freezer) + green beans and slivered almonds (pantry)
  • Tuesday: Baked teriyaki drumsticks + roasted carrots (fridge) and broccoli
  • Wednesday: Steak (freezer) fajitas + refried beans (freezer)
  • Thursday: Avocado BLT egg salad on toast
  • Friday: Out and about!

I know, I know, you’re dying to know what tips will be discussed next! Lucky for you, I am probably the worst ever at surprises, so I will just spill the beans now. In the next several weeks we will also talk about the glorious grocery ads, choosing recipes and making the freezer your friend– among many more topics I have in store for you!

In the meantime, I have some questions for you!

  1. Have you tried the “shop your kitchen first” strategy?
  2. What’s on your meal plan for next week?

PS- I promise I’ll start posting pictures soon as long as you promise to be nice about their terrible quality.

2 thoughts on “Grub

  1. I love seeing your weekly meal plans. Keep them coming.

    Do you have the leftovers for lunch the next day? I would love to see a blog post about lunches!

    Like

Leave a Reply

